top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Shadow Coaching

A while ago I came across the term ‘Shadow Coaching’. How do we define it? Was I being a shadow coach to my two new teachers and technician at the new school where I joined recently as a HOD?

I wonder why I choose questions I am not an expert at, to discuss on #INZPirED. And then I realized the question itself was my answer. I don’t choose to discuss things that are up my alley but I chase those that are difficult, get me out of my comfort zone, get me thinking and reflecting. Ones that are challenging and drives me to extend myself. That’s where my PLN comes in too, for I take this as an opportunity to learn from their insights, views and opinions. I am at a point of a professional journey where even being considered naive. a novice by some does not matter because I am here only for one reason and one reason alone- To Learn beyond what I already know.

What is Shadow Coaching?

It is an application of reflective and observational coaching that provides people opportunities to explore beyond the superficial into the core and making decisions that help people move forward. It goes beyond just supporting to problem solving.

Am I a Shadow Coach?

I think of me as a shadow coach at the moment. Having just joined the school I bring a fresh perspective that helps to identify problematic dynamics, work habits and assumptions that impede effectiveness. Helps provoke everyone’s awareness of any problematic attributes in ways that they can be addressed promptly. It creates an altering change.

As for me I don’t use it as a formal process but an informal means to have professional conversations on a regular basis and provide room for honest, collaborative, transparent communication without fear of being judged. An environment is created where teachers and I invite others into our classrooms and are proactive about seeking feedback so we can do what is best for our students. After all that is the key focus. No hierarchy here but working as a team where everyone feels comfortable sharing what their inquiry or goal is and seek support from anyone at the school who they think can support them best with their particular goal. Much more like a self-directed inquiry and means to achieve it. I would rather my teachers bought into it voluntarily as they see benefits for themselves and see shadow coaching as an enabler for personal and professional development. Shadow coaching develops the teacher’s own role as self-observer, offers opportunities for them to become reflective practitioners.

Some reference links from down under Aoeteroa-

Te Kotahitanga: Improving the Educational Achievement of Maori Students in Mainstream Education

http://tekotahitanga.tki.org.nz/About/The-Development-of-Te-Kotahitanga/Effective-Teaching-Profile

http://www.masseyhigh.school.nz/WebSpace/309/

“Shadow coaching occurs when the facilitator coaches and supports teachers to meet their individual or group goal within a teaching and learning context. It provides a supportive environment in which teachers can plan new ideas and strategies, trial them in the classroom, they collaboratively process and reflect on the results with an informed colleague. Shadow coaching seeks to build teacher capability in a supportive environment and may relate to any aspect of teaching. Across a group of teachers there will be a differentiated need for shadow coaching. Some teachers will require one shadow coaching session in each cycle while others may require more. The facilitator and teacher co-construct when, how often and in what form the shadow coaching will take place.” http://www.masseyhigh.school.nz/WebSpace/389/


bottom of page