top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Trending the Contexts

My Endeavour Teacher Fellowship in 2013 allowed me to work on a self-directed project that focused on new product development. On returning to school in 2014 I wanted to create programmes that would equip my students with the knowledge and skills required in food product development. I wanted my students to gain a good understanding of the future food innovation in industry. I wondered how I might extend and challenge my students and myself further. One day I sat there reading the Food New Zealand magazine that had just arrived and as I flicked through the pages I came upon one titled ‘Culinology’. What is that I wondered? In the past I have mentored my students to be food technologist, food scientist so what more could I do? And then it hit me, it was time to take that turn and explore new career pathways especially when the article indicated that there were very few Culinologists in NZ. I saw potential and wanted to offer my students more profession options and prepare them for beyond school, hence the project ‘Culinology’ was born. In today’s complex food industry, companies are seeking employees who can offer that competitive edge through experience and proven competencies in both culinary arts and food science. Food development continues to grow in importance in New Zealand and there will be a growing recognition of importance of having the knowledge and skills to be a Culinologist.

The course focuses on 4 key areas: food technology, culinary arts, food science and research and development (R&D). Students would have the opportunity to explore beyond the just food technology and explore the latest technology and training in culinary and food science, allowing them to taking the first steps into a world oriented on developing innovative and creative approaches to food product.

Within the culinology topic, students explored a range of possible clients and contexts. Identified needs and opportunities, undertook, research and development and created an outcome giving consideration to existing and new markets; elaborate on recipes and processes and procedures encompassing mass production concerns, ethical and moral responsibilities, legislation, the ability to measure, monitor and control food quality and product acceptance. An emphasis on R&D was evident in students exploring and generating new ideas, developing a prototype, evaluating feasibility against specification of the brief, client/stakeholder(s) and customer acceptance, elaborating final recipe, production plan, fully design the food product and put it in situ.

The more I read about ‘Culinology’ I found myself questioning about how I would teach it? How would I incorporate all of the core areas? Who could I use as an example? Treading into unknown territory had me a bit worried, but only momentarily because when life poses questions it also provides signs and answers. Heston Blumenthal came to my mind and led me to write project ‘Be Heston’. Heston uses a scientific approach to cooking and exploring the unconventional.

Heston’s Philosophy

2Capture.PNG

“Of course I want to create food that is delicious, but this depends

on so much more than simply what's going on in the mouth-context,

history, nostalgia, emotion, memory and the interplay of sight, smell,

sound and taste all play an important part in our appreciation and

enjoyment of food”

http://www.thefatduck.co.uk

bottom of page