top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Practicing Mindfulness

What is mindfulness, I wondered as I strolled to the next classroom with my study group. Today we begin mindfulness, is all we knew. I started to unpack what it was in my mind- being mindful of others, being empathetic, perhaps something for students to do with calming self during examinations, another one of those new initiatives maybe! As I walked towards the classroom some students who had fallen behind and had not quite made it to the room yet mumbled how they wished they could utilise time better and study instead of this; how it was going to be a complete waste of time, non-relevant to them etc. We entered the classroom and Dr Penney greeted us all. The students and I sat down and a booklet was handed out to all "An introduction to Mindfulness".

Dr Penney invited the students to discuss their thoughts, feelings (good and/or bad) that they were experiencing. Some said they were tired, others were worried about exams coming up, yet others were excited about a trip in the term break and so on. I sat as a silent observer, marking the roll and going through a checklist in my head of all the things I had to do and so on. The students were asked to sit straight, relax and try some breathing exercises. I too put all my gadgets to one side and followed the instructions. First up were some breathing exercises. So hard to breathe,...why was it taking so much of an effort to just sit there and breathe properly? Breathing should come easy, then why was it so hard? It was not all about the breathing but the mind that needs training; training to bring the mind back when it wanders. I started to breathe, started feeling lighter, more Oxygen filling up my lungs and I started to relax. I came upon #mindfulness at a phase in my life when I probably needed it most. Meditation was not new to me as I had grown up with Hindu, Buddhist values and spiritual way of life. however, there was more to the philosophy behind mindfulness and it was not just about meditation.

At least, once a day or several times during the day I try to STOP, calm my brain/thoughts, breathe and chillax. I am mindful and thankful for the blessed moments and people in my life.

We only live life once......so let's live every moment!

I encourage you to try a few of these or all in your time and in your space: Anchoring attention, 'un-worry', beditation, recognising links between our thoughts, emotions, sensations, behaviour and actions, stepping outside the 'autopilot' mode, savouring every moment, turning around and facing the fear, to live consciously, to stop, breathe and 'wake up' to things happening around us, taking every step mindfully forward or away, creating a zen zone, sitting still even if it is for a brief moment, reducing noise around us,

I would love to hear your thoughts and stories, if you wish to share them. Thanks.

Stay blessed!

THE GUEST HOUSE

This being human is a guest house. Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness, some momentary awareness comes as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all! Even if they are a crowd of sorrows, who violently sweep your house empty of its furniture, still, treat each guest honorably. He may be clearing you out for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice. meet them at the door laughing and invite them in.

Be grateful for whatever comes. because each has been sent as a guide from beyond.

-- Jelaluddin Rumi, (translation by Coleman Barks)

http://www.gratefulness.org/poetry/guest_house.hthttp://www.gratefulness.org/poetry/guest_house.htm

bottom of page